CNN Heroes 2010 call for entries

CNN is back and they just renews call for nomination for the 2010 CNN Heroes Recognition and the winner will receive $100,000 for their cause and global recognition of their work. CNN will also give the award and honors our everday citizens from around the world who are giving their best contribution in changing the world. (more below)

Last year, we Filipinos celebrated and welcomed 2009 CNN Hero of the Year Efren Penaflorida (Philippines), who won the award with more than 3 million votes at, Efren Penaflorida established the Dynamic Teen Company which gives Filipino youth an alternative to gang membership through education.

Another 2009 Top 10 CNN Hero was Budi Soehardi from Indonesia, founder of the Roslin Orphanage in West Ti mo r, one of the poorest areas of the country, providing children with food, shelter and education.

From August 1, 2010, you can visit website to read some info and submit your nominations for the people you think is the best heroes of your community. CNN invites nominations for individuals who have done an inspiring work in any of the ff. categories :

Championing Children – commitment to the welfare of young people

Community Crusader – commitment to those creating solutions to a local problem or social issue

Defending the Planet – commitment to those whose innovative ideas are helping preserve and protect the environment

Medical Marvel – commitment to those dedicated to enhancing human health

Protecting the Powerless – commitment to those advancing the cause of human or equal rights

Young Wonder – under 25s who have achieved outstanding charitable work

visit and nominate the HERO of your community

"CNN Heroes gave me a voice much louder than what I used to have and it has contributed much to our cause. The level of awareness to do good for others became so inspirational too as many organizations even in the government here and abroad wanted to adapt the pushcart system to cater to street children and those displaced by war," - Efren Penafloria
Here are some info about CNN HEROES
The CNN Heroes initiative began in 2007 to recognize ordinary people making extraordinary changes to the lives of others. Individuals are nominated on by those who witnessed or experienced the good deeds and feel compelled to share these stories through CNN.

A Blue Ribbon Panel, consisting of cultural luminaries and humanitarians, selects the Top 10 CNN Heroes of the year. From these 10 viewers vote at for the Hero who most inspires them. This year’s panel will be announced in September. Past panelists have included Retired Gen. Colin Powell, Sir Elton John, Mariane Pearl, Whoopi Goldberg, Lance Armstrong, Shakira, Sir Richard Branson, Deepak Chopra, Jane Goodall, Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson, Jeffrey Sachs and Archbishop Desmond Tutu.

Each of the ten honorees receives US$25,000 for their projects, with the CNN Hero of the Year receiving an additional US$100,000 financial support.

It is the CNN audience that picks the overall winner. After the Top Ten Heroes have been announced, viewers can vote online at for the individual who they think deserves the prestigious accolade for 2010.

Last year, CNN Heroes received mo re than 9,000 submissions from viewers in mo re than 100 countries.

The year-long campaign culminates in ‘CNN Heroes: An All-Star Tribute’ where celebrities honor the Top Ten CNN Heroes in a red carpet evening of acknowledgement. Last year’s Top Ten Heroes were honored by Nicole Kidman, Kate Hudson, Pierce Brosnan, Dwayne Johnson, Eva Mendes, Randy Jackson and Greg Kinnear.

The special event, hosted by CNN’s Anderson Cooper, is broadcast to CNN’s global audience.